St Oswald’s RC Primary School

May 2017

Newsletter

 

 

QUOTE FROM POPE FRANCIS’ ENCYCLICAL ON THE ENVIRONMENT, LAUDATO SI

“The climate is a common good, belonging to all and meant for all.”

 

SATS

The Year Six children will be taking their SATs exams during week beginning 8th May.  Please ensure your children are in school on time, have had good night’s sleep, and if they are not attending the SATs breakfast club have eaten breakfast.

 

The Year 2 SATs will take place throughout May.

 

KINGSWOOD

There is a meeting on 11th May at 5pm in school to discuss the forthcoming residential trip.

 

SAFETYWORKS

The Year 4 children will enjoy a visit to Safetyworks where they will learn how to stay safe over summer.

 

EASTER EGG COMPETITION

Once again we were overwhelmed by the fantastic imagination and design skills by our children.  The Easter eggs were amazing.  There are pictures on the website of all the beautiful creations.  www.stoswaldsrcprimary.org

 

EASTER FUNDRAISING

We have raised £252 for our school fund.  This money is used to subsidise school trips and buy much need resources for the school.  Thank you for your continued support.

 

NAME THE BUNNY & THE BEAR

The winner of Name the Bunny this year is Abbie in Year 6 who chose the name Hoppity.  The winner of the bear was Aaliyah in Reception who chose the name Augustus.

 

MOBILE PHONES

Although we do not encourage children to bring mobile phones into school, we realise that older children may require to have their phones with them while walking to and from school alone.  If you feel it is necessary for your child to bring their phone into school, please remember that they are not permitted in class and should be handed into the office for safe keeping.  They can then be collected at 3.15.

 

REMINDER OF HOLIDAY DATES

We break up on Friday 26th May for Half Term and return to school on Monday 5th June.

 

 

INSET DAY

School is closed to pupils on Monday 12th June to allow for staff training.

 

DATES FOR YOUR DIARY

Monday 1st May – May bank holiday, school is closed

Tuesday 2nd May – Rehearsing for singing festival at CHCS – Year 5

Wednesday 3rd May – Singing Festival at Cardinal Hume School for Year 5

Monday 8th May – SATs week

Wednesday 10th May – Last Chatterbooks session for years 5 and 6

Thursday 11th May – Last Chatterbooks session for years 3 and 4

  • Meeting at 5pm re Kingswood residential visit

Wednesday 17th May – Year 4 to visit Safetyworks

Friday 19th May – Gold Book Assembly at 9.10am

Monday 22nd May – Residential visit to Kingswood

Friday 26th May – Children return home from residential visit

–  Great Gateshead Fun Run for Year 4

– Break up for Half Term holiday

Monday 12th June – INSET day, school is closed to pupils

Thursday 15th June – Year 6 to visit Nissan

  • Puberty talk for Year 5 children

Wednesday 21st June – Cluster Sports Day at Cardinal Hume for Year 5

Thursday 22nd June – Welcome day at Cardinal Hume School for Year 6 children

Monday 26th June – 28th June – Bikeability for Year 6

Thursday 29th June – Super Splash Heroes (a pantomime by Northumbrian Water)

Monday 3rd July and Tuesday 4th July – Curriculum days at Cardinal Hume School for Year 6 children

Thursday 20th July – Year 6 Leavers Mass at 10am

Friday 21st July – Break up for summer holiday

 

 

 

DO YOU HAVE ANY COMMENTS FOR US?

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Translate »