St Oswald’s RC Primary School

April 2015

Newsletter

 

 

EASTER HOLIDAYS

We break up for the holidays on Thursday 2nd April and return to school on Monday 20th April. Nursery will return to school on Tuesday 21st April.

 

EASTER EGG COMPETITION AND BONNET PARADE

Once again we were overwhelmed by the fantastic imagination and design skills by our children. The bonnets and Easter eggs were amazing. There are pictures on the website of all the beautiful creations. www.stoswaldsrcprimary.org

 

ATTENDANCE MONITORING

The role of our staff is changing with regards to attendance monitoring from next term. It is possible that we may need to ask you more questions than normal when you advise us your child is absent. Please be patient with us we are following Gateshead Council protocol.

 

POLLING DAY

School will be closed on Thursday 7th May to allow for voting in the General Election.

 

DONATION STATION – ST OSWALD’S HOSPICE

A reminder – we have a Donation Station in the school entrance. Please bring any unwanted clothes, shoes, bags, DVD’s, CD’s etc. and place them in the donation station. St Oswald’s will come and collect these to use in their charity shops.

 

MULTI – SPORT FESIVAL

A group of Year 1 children took part in a Multi-Sport Festival at Gateshead Leisure Centre on 11th March. Have a look at our photos on the website.

 

SCHOOL MEALS PRICE

For the third year running, school meals will remain at £2.00 per day or £10 per week.

Please remember that school meals should be paid for before they are taken. All monies should be brought into school in a clearly labelled envelope. Envelopes are available to buy from the school office at 50p per bundle.

 

HOOPS 4 HEALTH

A Team of children from Year 5 competed in the Newcastle Eagles Hoops 4 Health Basketball tournament. They were fantastic and they won!! Well done everyone. They will now compete in the Champion of Champions tournament on 24th April. Have a look at the photos on our website.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dates for your diary

Wednesday 1st April – Easter Productions at 10am and 1.30pm

Thursday 2nd April – Easter Raffle drawn

Thursday 2nd April – Break up for Easter Holidays

Friday 24th April – Reception class to visit Washington Wildfowl Centre (Further info to follow)

Monday 27th April – Year 5 to visit Cardinal Hume for singing festival rehearsal

Wednesday 29th April – Year 1 & 2 to visit Safetyworks (Further info to follow)

Wednesday 29th April – Year 5 Singing festival at Cardinal Hume

Thursday 30th April – Years 3,4 & 5 to visit Safetyworks (Further info to follow)

Thursday 7th May – School closed

Monday 11th May – Year 6 SAT’s week

Monday 18th May – Year 6 to visit Nissan

Thursday 21st May – Year 3 to visit Beamish

Wednesday 3rd June – Year 1 and Year 5 to have a Fire Safety talk

Wednesday 3rd June – Year 5 and 6 to have NSPCC assembly

Wednesday 10th June – Year 5 & 6 NSPCC workshops

Thursday 11th June – Year 4 to visit Heritage Centre

Friday 12th June – Year 6 Bikeability

Tuesday 16th June – Welcome day at Cardinal Hume for selected children

Wednesday 17th June – Year 6 to visit Youth Ministry

Wednesday 17th June – Year 4 to attend skipping festival at Cardinal Hume

Friday 19th June – Year 6 Bikeability

Friday 19th June – Year 5 Cluster Sports Day

Tuesday 23rd June – Year 6 to Cardinal Hume for Welcome Day

Friday 26th June – Year 6 Bikeability (reserve day)

Monday 29th June & Tuesday 30th June – Year 6 to visit Cardinal Hume

Wednesday 1st July – KS2 Talent Show

Thursday 2nd July – KS1 Talent Show

Friday 3rd July – Year 2 to take part in the Sandcastle Challenge

Friday 3rd July – Year 6 Leavers Mass (to be confirmed)

Monday 6th July – Year 6 residential to Kingswood in Hexham

Thursday 9th July – Nursery Graduation

Friday 10th July – Sports Day

Tuesday 14th July – Dance Festival (Further info to follow)

Wednesday 15th July – Dance Festival (Further info to follow)

Friday 17th July – Break up for Summer Holiday

 

Translate »